Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends? 1. joining a sports team 2. participating in community activities 3. traveling

Use of social media is ever growing nowadays. Many would argue that not only individuals, but also the society have been negatively impacted by these online social sites. I would disagree with the masses and state that social media websites have helped shape our modern society let alone has played an important role in individual’s life. This essay would discuss the positive impact, namely bringing people together and providing a platform to raise opinions, such sites have had on the community. Social sites like the Facebook, were developed with the core intention of connecting with people, of similar wavelengths, all around the world. Today, millions of people use such websites to share, communicate and express feelings with rest of the world which was impossible before the advent of social media. As per the report by the Ministry of Telecommunication, daily nearly 1000’s of people connect to Facebook and a hundreds’ of photos and videos are shared every second. Evidently, social media sites have enabled people to discuss, share and express ideas with the entire world. Before the rise of social media, print media and the NEWS channels were the only source of news for the masses. It was also very difficult to raise one’s opinion or be heard by everyone. After the onset of social website, every individual of the community now has the power to raise his opinion and take the centre stage. For example, nowadays many surveys are done online via the social media. Nevertheless, social networking sites have empowered the modern citizens to state their views and suggestions. To summarize, this essay has discussed the benefits of networking sites such as helping people to connect with each other and aiding people speak out their views and be heard by others. In my opinion, the reach these social networking sites provide, have benefited not only the individuals but also the civilization as a whole.