Which of the following community services in a hospital would you like to choose, reading for a patient, talking to a patient or taking care of his or her family members?

These days, shopping has become increasing popular among people. Some people argue that shopping preferences of a person is determined by their age. I do not quite agree with this view. While I do admit that youngsters and teenagers tend to shop more than elderly people, a person’s ability to shop is ultimately determined by their financial status. Rich people tend to shop more than poor people. This is not necessarily because their needs are greater. They buy more because they can afford it. Conversely, poor people cannot afford shop frequently because their financial situation does not permit it. Of course, there are some people who borrow money to buy things, but they cannot carry on this habit for long because there is a limit to the amount of credit a person can get. Having said that, the age of a person may also influence their shopping habits. Impulsive buying, for example, is more common among adolescents and youngsters. They often follow fads and buy things that they may or may not need. They are also more likely to invest in clothing, gadgets and personal care products. Even so, not every youngster spends in the same way. Young people coming from rich family backgrounds certainly spend more than their poor counterparts. Another factor that could influence the shopping habits of people is their values and beliefs. People who believe in simple living are unlikely to splurge even if they can afford it. In conclusion, the financial situation of a person is the first and foremost factor that determines their shopping habits. Age and value systems are also influential factors, but they are not more important than the purchasing power of a person.