Which of the following characteristics is the most important for a student to be successful? Self-motivating, hard-working, intelligent.

Language translation by computers has considerably improved in recent years. Some people claim children need not learn a foreign language. I completely disagree with this statement because, they need to explore different languages, in order to increase their cognitive ability and as they grow they might need to interact with people of different languages. Firstly, language skill is an important milestone in a child's development because it improves the cognitive ability. In addition, the brain becomes sharp if multiple languages are learnt in paediatric age. Although, softwares can translate languages for children still they cannot improve their language learning skills. Therefore, the little ones must be encouraged to master an additional language. For example, my cousin can speak fluently in German language and hence, she can excel in her career. Moreover, children learn new things at a fast pace similarly, speaking in a new language might not be difficult for them. Secondly, children may encounter people from different parts of the world in future, because of globalisation. So, they must be well prepared at an early age, by motivating them to concentrate on a foreign language. Further, as a grownup if they need to migrate to a different country, this knowledge will help them to be social in a foreign land. For instance, my primary education was in English I had an advantage to become friendly with people in a foreign land when I moved to London. In conclusion, language translation by computers might not help children in the long run nevertheless, children need to improve their language skills in order to thrive in a distant place.