When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration.

What should be the most significant factor to look at in choosing a job is the topic of much debate. While some people think money ranks top on this list, it is opined that there may be some other reasons which are as important as money to be considered. Admittedly, when an individual decides whether to take up a paid employment or not, the income to be received is one of the most significant considerations. This is because money is needed to meet the basic needs of life such as feeding, housing, and healthcare. If people were to choose job based on non-financial factors, they may not be able to support themselves and this may impact greatly on their quality of life. Hence, it is obvious why some people may rank salaries as the most essential. However, it is expedient to say that not everyone takes up a job because of money as there are other important factors to be considered that money cannot buy. One of such is personal fulfilment which is derived from discharging one’s duties at the workplace. For example, in 2009, the New York Times which is a well-renowned news magazine in the United States, stated in its monthly publication, an interview conducted amongst 100 doctors in Washington State University Teaching Hospital to unravel the major sources of job satisfaction at their workplace. Out of these 100, 80 reported that factors such as acquiring more skills, seeing patients recover following treatment and the ability to share in their joy, gave them the most sense of fulfilment while the remaining 20 accrued their sense of satisfaction to receiving high salaries. It is thus clear that, money alone cannot be considered as the most essential when choosing a job. In conclusion, while it may be correct that financial security is a vital factor in taking up an employment, other considerations such as job fulfilment should also be factored in. It is hoped that people learn to regard both factors equally.