A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same right as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

In this modern world, the perspectives of how best to treat animals differ among people. While some think that animals should be treated equally as humans and have similar rights, others opine that humans use animals in terms of meeting their diverse needs such as food and research. This essay will analyze both views and provide an opinion. On the one hand, proponents of animal exploitation argue that humans are the most important earthly creatures. If ensuring the survival of human race means experimenting on as more animals as possible, then this should be done. Example of such opinion can be seen in various research laboratories all over the world where drug testing is initially done on animals before human trials are carried out. Should these animals not respond positively to these experimental trials, they are not carried out on human beings. This example clearly shows that human beings are more superior than animals and thus subject to exploitation. On the other hand, those who think animals have equal right as humans opine that most of the reasons for predating on these animals are unnecessary. They argue, for instance, that most of the essential food nutrients needed by humans can be derived from fruits and vegetables which have even been scientifically proven to be more beneficial than animal products. To illustrate, in 2010, the Guardian newspaper, which is a reputable news magazine in Nigeria, published a study, carried out by the Nigerian Medical Association, to access the risk of cardiovascular disease among vegans and non-vegans. The study showed that there was double risk of developing cardiovascular disease among non-vegans when compared to their vegan counterparts who consumed more of plant product. Hence, it is clear that human beings do not compulsorily have to feed on animals. To conclude, although some people argue that using animals for food and research can be considered ethical. I am of the opinion that both animals and humans can have an enduring symbiotic relationship which will ultimately benefit both ends. It is thus hoped that steps will be taken to improve the rights of animals to ensure continuity of this race.