When children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than their parent.

It is argued by some that teachers exert greater impacts on children’s intellectual and social development compared to parents. My belief is that the role of teachers is inevitable, but nobody can deny the importance of parental education on children’s holistic growth. To begin with, children spend a large amount at school and with their teachers, which explains why teacher play a sustainable role in the children. In most of the countries, the average time that students spend at school is around five to eight hours per day, which is also the time for children to absorb knowledges and have interaction with their teachers. Another reason why teachers have a significant influence on children is that teachers are trained in both teaching a subject and instructing children with the most effective methods. Clearly, teachers have played a great impact on educating children. On the other hand, parent can significantly influence on children’s development because they are their first role model and establish for the foundation of cognitive and emotional development the first five years of a child’s life. As it is proven in Journal of Childhood Research, children’s first five years is when a child’s brain develops more and faster than any other time of their life. In this period of time, children are more likely to have more interaction with their parents. As a result, the children’s brain creates million connections with their parents, forming the base for the further development. In conclusion, although teachers make contributions to students’ intellectual and social skill, parents are the ones to lay the foundation over the maturation.