Some people think playing computer games is bad for children on everything. Others think it has some positive on the way children develop.

Recently there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the effects of computer games in children's life. Some feel that playing games on technological platforms helps children to develop better for their future. However, I agree with those who are of the opinion that playing computer games will negatively impact on their daily life. In this essay, I will proffer the justification on both viewpoints as well as adduce all the arguments which might support my own belief. Those who espouse the former opinion claim that children can enhance their mental ability. The proponents of this view maintain that when these youngsters play games such as ludo, chess, etc. , which require their constant focus on the game, they can boost their mental power through defending other opponents. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. For instance, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that those students who were highly engaged in playing games during their childhood were able to achieve higher grades than other who did not play any games. Nevertheless, one can argue that there is more to the story than this research tells. Personally, I firmly believe that playing games will impede children's development because they get easily distracted from their academic lifestyle. It goes without saying that many children, nowadays, are playing computer games throughout their whole day because the audio and video visualization of these games traps them to play more. Not to forget their parents are also working down-to-dust, so they would not be able to restrict their usage. If these kids play more and more of this kind of games, they will lose their concentration from school life and later they won't be able to complete their studies. My friend, Tina, is a shining example of this. She used to play online games with her friends online after school hours daily. She enjoyed it a lot, but before she knew it, she felt behind from the academic grades and had to repeat many subjects again to graduate. To sum up, although playing games may improve mind power for some children. I still hold to the opinion that this trend hurdles children's growth as they might lose their concentration from academic subjects.