what kind of reading material novels, magazines or poetry u would like to read in your free time?

Nowadays, an increasing number of tourists are travelling to places where conditions are arduous such as the Sahara desert and the Antarctic region. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. There are some positive outcomes with this development. To begin with, it is beneficial in terms of exploring the environment of such areas. Places such as the Antarctic region, which is at the North Pole is not explored, thereby tourists going there would lead to knowledge about the climate and living situation. Furthermore, the tourists’ influx to such areas may encourage countries to develop infrastructure. If visitors opt for these places, there would arise a need for constructing roads, building hospitals and restaurants. A recent study, for instance, showed that in 2009 the tourists’ influx to an area in Japan results in 30% infrastructure development in that area. However, this trend comes with negative outcomes. Firstly, travelling to these places may be dangerous for visitors. This is because the climate and the routes are not adoptable for humans and may result in the death of tourists. The World Environment Agency, for example, showed a study that while travelling to the Antarctic region in 2005, five American citizens out of ten had died due to the temperature below minus fifty. Secondly, tourists’ influx to such areas results in producing trash. Visitors after using products normally throw it away due to the unavailability of bins, which, in turn, results in environmental pollution. In conclusion, tourists visiting difficult places have advantages such as exploring the area and the infrastructure growth; whereas, the disadvantages are that it is dangerous for visitors and produce garbage.