What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country?

There have been many inventions in the past one century that has improved the people's life in my country. Here, I would like to talk about the advancement of the agriculture industry that has transformed irrigation and farming process more effectively with less wastage, reduced time and human effort. Firstly, traditionally the irrigation was a human intense work and time-consuming process, like digging the wells, fetching the water from wells and building the passages to the field. In addition, people also depend on rain for natural irrigation, which has an adverse effect of spoiling the crops in case of excess rains. The modern inventions have facilitated the farmers to bore the wells, pump the water and sprinkle the water on the fields quickly. These inventions reduce time and effort spent on boring wells and pulling the water and wastage of water passing over the ground from one end to another end of the field. Secondly, in olden days planting the crops or seeds were a labour- intensive process and consumes more time, the farmers used the drag or harrow to incorporate the seed into the soil. The modern technology used the machines and equipment to sow or plant the seeds evenly at a desired rate that reduces the seed wastages and time to plant the seeds into the soil. It also enables to utilise the land evenly and produce more yield on a given area. Thus, latest innovations accelerated the farmers to produce more in a shorter span of time with reasonable costs, effort and fewer wastages compared to traditional methods.