What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country?

There have been various discoveries in last century that have helped my country to improve the people's standard of living and have made their life easier. Discoveries such as telephones, internet and advancement in medicine field have been proven to be very important for changing and shaping people’s lives. But the discovery that has proved to be most beneficial is the advancements in agriculture field such as improved irrigational facilities and improved fertilisers. India is primarily an agricultural nation, where still 60% of the population lives in villages. People mostly depend on agriculture and related activities for their livelihood. In earlier days, people were mainly dependent on monsoon and did not have an alternative method of irrigation. If monsoon failed, it would result in drought and hundreds of people would either die or become bankrupt. Also, with the poor quality of seed and bad farming practices, the output generally remained low and the majority of the crops were destroyed by rodents and worms/insects. We were not self-sufficient in producing food grains and hence had to import it from other countries. But with the advent of technologies and new improved farming practices, India's agricultural production has surged. We are no longer only dependent on monsoon. Although monsoon still remains as a major source of irrigation, but now we have dams and irrigational channels that provide water for cultivation throughout the year. The government has also focused on providing education on new and improved seeds, fertilisers and new farming techniques such as crop rotation. With the use of these new techniques, we have not only become self-sufficient in the production of our food grain but have a surplus amount for several years. India has also become an exporter of many food grains such as rice, wheat, sugar etc. This has not only helped our economy to grow but also made life easier for all Indians. In a nutshell, the discoveries made in the field of agricultural have proved to be a boon for us. We are now able to feed 1. 2billion people on our own and yet have a surplus amount. This has also improved the plight of farmers and has relieved huge pressure from our economy by becoming an exporter of food grain rather than an importer.