What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays, e-commerce is a popular way to buy or sell through the Internet. Not only consumers start to buy needed consumables, companies also tend to pay more attention to their online shops. In this essay, I will look into the benefits and drawback of this for both parties of commerce. Primarily, the most important problem of local shops is decreasing number of clients, due to buyers’ option of buying products online. Moreover, another disadvantage of online shopping is increasing number of online frauds because most of the time clients cannot see the product beforehand. With that, it is easy for fraudsters to do illegal business without being caught by law authorities. On the other hand, the obvious benefit of online shopping is an opportunity to purchase or sell products all over the world. For sellers this may be the way to enlarge their business by selling their products to a larger group of consumers, which is also a good situation for delivery services. In addition, people can buy anything they need no matter if it is in stock in their local shop or even in the city, which is good for chain stores. Furthermore, e-commerce is an important option for disabled people who struggle with going out of their homes. The most significant side of this is a variety of possible ways to change business for the better. For example, whilst people change their routine from going into shops to the online shopping, local retailers can consider creating an online shop in addition to their physical shop, or completely changing to e-commerce. Having looked at the pros and cons of online shopping, I can say that although there are quite a few drawbacks of increasing popularity of purchasing items through the internet, the possibilities and opportunities, which are available for sellers and buyers, are much more significant in numbers and importance.