what are the causes of water pollution? what are some possible effects and solutions?

Contamination of water by harmful substances, which affects life on earth, is termed as water pollutions. Water sources are getting more and more polluted due to numerous activities. As a result, many adverse impacts exist. There are three main causes led to such a problem. The primary reason which plays a role in this issue is human activities. Household garbage which is disposed into various sources of water is extremely dangerous. additionally, many people in villages perform their domestic activities such as bathing, and washing clothes and utensils in rivers and lakes which affects the quality of water. The third major source of contaminated water is factories; industrial wastes that are discharged into water bring about polluted water. Hence, other activities may also produce polluted water. Numerous negative consequences appear due to this disaster. Firstly, the consumption of contaminated water gives rise to lots of diseases such as cholera and typhoid. secondly, water pollution has a harmful impact on the food chain; when harmful toxins are present in water they are transferred to higher level organisms through the food chain. Thirdly, water pollutants alter the overall chemistry of the water, causing changes in acidity, conductivity and temperature. These in turn have an effect on the aquatic life. Lastly, If oil is spilled on the water due to accidents, the effects on the ecosystem and the components are harmful. As a result, many animals can get destroyed in case they swallow oil. There is a lot we can do to save our water sources. Governments play a crucial role in solving this problem; they ought to impose taxes so that humans stop throwing their garbage in rivers. Sewage and industrial wastes should be treated before discharging into the water. In conclusion, governments and citizens have to go hand in hand to tackle that serious issue.