Topic: Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. ​ What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Over the last few years, a multitude of people have been searching for ways by which the environment can utterly be preserved from harmful effects and damages. However, the contamination of lakes, rivers and seas has become a main anxiety for these people due to some reasons that largely contributes to this trend. In this essay, I will look at the reasons of water pollution and give more detailed information about the effects of it on the lives of animals and human society. ​ ​ The most common reason of water pollution is oil spill. This factor is believed to have the largest impact on water supplies because it features some chemical compounds which are extremely hazardous for liquids. Another reason worth mentioning is industrial waste. This type of wastes are mainly generated by plants, especially by those being situated in suburban areas, which not only negatively affect the atmosphere surrounding us, but also spoil seas, rivers, etc. in which various species of marine animals live. Therefore, pollution created by the refuses relating to industry is thought to be one of the primary causes of water pollution. ​ ​ There are some detrimental effects the contamination of water has on both animals' lives and human communities. Firstly, this kind of pollution causes the degradation of animals' and people's life qualities. Secondly, people and animals utilizing such water are more likely to be affected by some toxic chemicals and become more vulnerable to a large number of fatal diseases. ​ ​ To sum up, the spill of oil and industrial waste are the most prevalent causes of water pollution. This type of pollution reduces animals' and humans' quality of life and makes them more sensible to many of the deadly illnesses. Lots of actions must be taken urgently by governments in order to preclude the contamination of water.