What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city?

Nowadays, the populations of most countries have grown, and many people live in large cities. However for some people, choosing to live in a large city could be a hard decision, as that has its advantages as well as its disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument. On the one hand, there are certain advantages to living in a large city. First of all, living in in a large metropolis is highly convenient. Amenities and facilities such as shops, clinics, schools, pharmacies and entertainment venues are likely to be within a reasonable distance. One would not have to go far to get to those places. Secondly, large cities also provide their residents with a wide range of educational and job opportunities. Schools are of higher quality, and the standard of education is often better in large cities. Moreover, employees can receive a higher salary and have better jobs there. Turning to the other side of the argument, living in large cities also has its downsides. With so many people living in such large cities, traffic is often very slow. During the rush hour, one could be stuck in traffic jams for hours and hours, moving an inch per minute. Furthermore, all those exhaust fumes from the hundreds of vehicles and emissions from factories make the air quite polluted, causing smog. Thus, living in a large polluted city with heavy traffic and the multitude of cars honking all day can never be peaceful and will definitely have deleterious effects on people’s health in the long run. In summary, living in a large city can be extremely convenient. It also provides people with better education and more job opportunities. However, living in such cities could also be quite stressful, with all the noise and traffic jams resulting in unhealthy noise and air pollution.