In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community? Make a list of advantages and disadvantages. Which is better: living in a large city or a small community?

These days most people prefer living in big cities and become more individual. While some time ago, they used to live in the countryside, where everyone knew each other. On one hand, I agree that living in the countryside is harder, than is seems to be, because it is related with the lack of availability to the many areas of social services. However, I suppose there are varieties of benefits that small villages can offer to people. One of the main benefits is connected with fresh air. Since the development of the city air pollution level increased rapidly. Due to the heavy traffic and industries in the cities, air pollution became harmful not only for adults, but also for children and causes the increase of chronic diseases. Another reason is that living in a small neighbourhood makes our life easier. It means that life in a village keeps both physical and mental health and makes your life more relaxed, than in urban areas. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of living in a small centre that is deeply connected with people’s needs of continuous improvement. In my opinion, in a small neighbourhood the level of development became lower and sometimes removes from the present. Firstly, it is because of the lack of new acquaintances and entertainment. As it was said earlier, in a small association, people know each other and over time it becomes an obstacle to the improvement of cognitive, communication and competitive skills. Secondly, there are no work perspectives in comparison with urban areas, where employees usually boost their professional skills. So, as everybody knows, the person always needs to develop, and continuous advancement is possible only in a competitive environment, where there are a huge number of different people. Consequently, there are several advantages and disadvantages of living in a small society, but in my opinion, there are more disadvantages. However, living in such areas good for health and can be comfortable for another group of people who find living in a small state better than wherever.