In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been noted that in many nations, nowadays, it has become unlawful not to accept a person who apply for a job due to his or her age. In my opinion, it is a positive development as there would be a reduction in the rate of unemployment and an improvement in economic growth. One good reason why it is not legal to deny people of certain posts due to their number of years is the need to reduce the number of unemployed humans in a nation. In other words, when companies, governments and NGOs stop employing certain age groups of individuals, especially in order to cut costs, it leads to increased number of persons who are not working, thus, leading to an increase in the rate of crime as these individuals would involve themselves in criminal acts, such as theft, in order to make ends meet. For example, it has been noted that majority of the banks in Nigeria reject middle aged workers because they feel that at their level, they must have acquired better work experience and would attract higher salary. Another point to consider is the effect of accepting workers, despite their ages, on the economy. Take for example, most advanced people who are also advanced in knowledge and skills when denied of important seats would have a negative effect on a company's output, and as a result, reduce the GDP of that facility. More so, when only the highly skilled personnel are offered appointments, the upcoming ones, especially the fresh graduates, would be jobless, and there would be lesser number of young people to take over from the elderly ones at their retirement time. In conclusion, although it might seem abnormal to see many states prohibit the rejection of employees due to their age, however, I think it has many benefits, not only to citizens but also to the nations as there would be boost in their economy.