Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Employee’s selection is a difficult process these days. Although some people believe that recruiters asking from employers about their hobbies, interests and whether they are married or single is a relevant to a job, others are against of this view. In my view, I agree with the former view and this essay will discuss both of the sides. On the one hand, personal information affects an employee performance in the work and I agree. If workers possess diverse range of hobbies such as playing games and reading, they would be productive in achieving tasks at hand. Similarly, the martial status affects the performance of a person. Married people have more responsibilities as compared to unmarried people, which could hinder or slow down their performance in the workplace. A recent study from Oxford University, for instance, showed that people who have extracurricular activities, reading and writing interests, and are single, perform 50% more better in the workforce environment as compared to those who do not possess these features. Thus, employers should consider these information while hiring a person. On the other hand, opponents of the former view say that these attributes are not critical and academic and experience in a particular field is of paramount importance. This is because these information do not have effect on the working of a person as tasks in offices are related to academic knowledge and experience. This, in turn, means other things such as personal interests, hobbies and marital status have no effect on their performance at work. Research by the World Business Authority, for example, revealed that efficiency of employees in business depend 40% on their academic and practical experience in the specific working domain and not on personal interests. Hence, individual interests and status are not correlating with employee’s performance and companies should hire individuals on the basis of academic achievements and experience. In conclusion, while some people opine that personal interests and marital status are irrelevant in employees hiring process, in my opinion, they are crucial as they increases performance-level at work.