What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

In my point of view the television is one of the most important invent in our century. After advent of TV, " this small box" The society faced with a big change in compare before. It is one of the remarkable entertainment specially for kids in different ages, they are able to catch numerous information in different area such as history, geography, sport etc. Also there is a large variety of cartoons and movies that it would bring an enjoyable time for them. Although it has brought many benefits to our life, But still there are some disadvantages. Basically children are enthusiastic to watch TV specially cartoons and movies but it has reported that some children has affected by unsuitable channels day by day. So there is a big responsibility for adult to control the situation. For example some kids after school want to watch TV for a long time, If we could not monitor them properly, It might be they surf in different programs, which is not appropriate for them in their age therefore, it would caused a big challenge in the filed of moral factors and psychological matters and the another hindrance of keep sitting in front of TV without any physical activities for a long time will be facing with a significant problems like obesity in the lower age. As a result it is an important obligation of matured people as the parents to define the schedule of the time of watching TV, indoor and out door activity to manage them.