CHILDREN TODAY SPEND MORE TIME WATCHING TELEVISION THAN THEY DID IN THE PAST. DESCRIBE SOME OF THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF TELEVISION FOR TELEVISION.

NO ONE WOULD DENY THAT CHILDREN OF THESE DAYS ARE MORE ENGAGED IN WATCHING TELEVISION THAN THEIR COUNTERPARTS FROM DECADES AGO. ALTHOUGH THERE ARE BENEFITS OF WATCHING TELEVISION FOR CHILDREN, THESE DO NOT COME WITHOUT SOME DRAWBACKS. UNDOUBTEDLY, THERE ARE A WIDE RANGE OF ADVANTAGES OF TELEVISION FOR CHILDREN. FIRST AND FOREMOST, WATCHING TV BROADENS THE YOUNG ONES' KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE WORLD. THAT IS TO SAY THAT THROUGH TV PROGRAMS SUCH AS DISNEY WORLD AND NICKELODEON, CHILDREN GET TO LEARN DIFFERENT CULTURES OF PEOPLE ALL OVER THE WORLD. SECONDLY, WATCHING TELEVISION REINFORCES SKILLS SUCH AS TEAMWORK, COMMUNICATION, CONFIDENCE AND INTERPERSONAL SKILLS IN CHILDREN. FOR EXAMPLE, A RECENT SURVEY BY YORK DALE UNIVERSITY FOUND THAT 87% OF PARENTS REPORTED A TREMENDOUS IMPROVEMENT IN THEIR CHILDREN'S CONFIDENCE AND COMMUNICATION SKILL AFTER SIX MONTHS OF EXPOSURE TO TV PROGRAMS. DESPITE THE BENEFITS ASSOCIATED WITH WATCHING TV, THERE ARE SOME DISADVANTAGES TO THIS. THE MAIN DRAWBACK THAT IS RELATED TO WATCHING TV IN KIDS IS POOR READING HABIT AND UNHEALTHY LIFESTYLE. IN OTHER WORDS, A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF CHILDREN PREFER TO SIT IN FRONT OF THE SCREENS ALL DAY THAN READ THEIR BOOKS OR EXERCISE. AS A RESULT, THIS HAS DRASTICALLY REDUCED THE READING CULTURE AND INCREASED THE RATE OF OBESITY AMONG CHILDREN. A GOOD ILLUSTRATION IS THE RECENT FINDING BY LONDON SCHOOL OF HYGIENE AND TROPICAL MEDICINE WHICH STATES THAT 69% OF CHILDREN WHO SPEND MORE THAN 3 HOURS WATCHING TV IS MORE PRONE TO OBESITY AND OTHER INFLAMMATORY DISEASES. IN CONCLUSION, WHILE WATCHING TELEVISION IS ADVANTAGEOUS FOR CHILDREN, IT ALSO COMES WITH SOME DISADVANTAGES. PARENTS SHOULD DO MORE TO MONITOR AND SUPERVISE THE TIME AND CONTENT OF WHAT THEIR CHILDREN ARE SEEING IN ORDER TO RAISE A RESPONSIBLE FUTURE GENERATION.