Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters

It is argued that high-income countries should provide humanitarian assistance to their poorer counterparts during natural catastrophes. This essay agrees with this statement because poor nations do not have enough resources to deal with such circumstances and foreign aid can also accelerate their recovery. Middle and low-income countries do not have sufficient money and infrastructure to assist their communities during a natural disaster. This can lead to many preventable deaths and potentiate the negative impact on people’s life. Moreover, when such catastrophes happen, the large number of people who need urgent help and the environmental damage that difficults the access to the area make the task very expensive and logistically challenging. For instance, the financial support and the humanitarian assistance given to Haiti by wealthier nations during the 2012s earthquake were pivotal to save hundreds of human lives. Tsunamis, earthquakes and storms can destroy entire cities and it is almost impossible for undeveloped countries to rebuild and regain growth by themselves. Rich nations assistance can provide the adequate support to achieve a faster infrastructural and economic recovery. To illustrate, the international help provided to Thailand after a tsunami, which destroyed many islands, hit the country’s coast in 2008 was one of the major aspects that made possible the impressive development that this nation has presented in the last years. In summary, high-income nations need to help poorer ones during environmental disasters. Undeveloped countries have very limited resources to face these challenges and international aid can save many lives and optimize their capacity to recover