Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters.

It has been argued that economically backward countries should be helped by first world nations on humanitarian grounds during natural calamities. I agree with this view because developed countries have resources and technology which could be used for coping with these types of disasters. Also their expertise in medical sciences helps to mitigate the spread of diseases. To begin with, rich countries are well equipped to deal with disasters which are not man-made. They have surplus of basic necessities like drinkable water and non perishable foods which are of utmost importance when a calamity strikes. Along with the latest technology which helps with the forecast and ways to minimize impact, developed nations have specially trained people to help during the aftermath. For instance, the European Union has large aircrafts which help carry the supplies to areas where the infrastructure has been hit by the disaster. Secondly, developed nations have superior medical technology. Fighting the spread of epidemics is crucial after a natural calamity to reduce the death toll. Well-to-do nations have mobile medical units which help set up clinics in an efficient and swift manner wherever needed. For example, the United States of America have a special department US-AID and their sole purpose is to lead the rescue operations internationally where they lack manpower to deal with calamities. In conclusion, in my opinion the financially solid countries should definitely assist the developing and third-world states on empathetic terms during the natural disasters. This is because they are financially stable due to which they have spare resources and their proficiency in medicine benefits the suffering nation from spread of disease