Many people believe that mobile phones cause more harms than the benefits and that’s why mobile phones should be restricted?

Availability of newer and advanced versions of smart phones has led to an increasingly large number of people using them. Many people insist that these communication tools are more dangerous than beneficial and therefore, their use should be limited / discouraged. In my opinion, although use of mobile phones may prove to be risky under certain situations, overall they are a compulsory mode of communication and thus they are a necessity. Therefore, restricting their usage is completely unwarranted. It is undoubtedly true that under some circumstances, using mobile phones can put the safety of a person in danger. In other words, there are certain situations where using cell phone is inappropriate and may result in the occurrence of grievous accidents or major injuries. Talking on phone or texting while driving may divert the driver’s attention and consequently he becomes less conscious /aware of the presence of other vehicles or people on the road. This often results in fatal accidents. On the flip side, there is a strong argument against banning / restricting handsets. Firstly, a smart phone can prove to be a saviour in the event of unpredicted natural calamities like earthquakes. Under such conditions, a hand-held device facilitates communication between survivors and the rescue team. Likewise, availability of many navigation apps on modern smart phones may help lost travellers find the right direction. This often proves to be the difference between life and death. Additionally, since most of smart phones are now equipped with the internet, we can perform various laborious tasks more efficiently. A mobile phone with high-speed internet connection not only saves time but also eliminates the need to travel. For instance, by using a smart phone a passenger can book the railway ticket from the convenience of his home. Also, these days, many financial transactions can be carried out on cell phone and this has eliminated the need to visit the bank. In conclusion, I am of the view that even though the use of a handset may be dangerous in some cases, banning it is completely preposterous. In fact, mobile phones facilitate communication and increase our efficiency to perform many mundane tasks. If the users try to use the device more responsibly, it would prove to be a boon and not a bane.