Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centres. Do you think the advantages of this proposition outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, large companies have become more conscious and careful regarding the location of their offices. Some are of the notion that they should move outside the urban areas while others opine against it. I completely agree with the former as people waste precious time commuting in urban areas and also the congestion in cities affects the mind too. To begin with, it is a plight of every other corporate area that a person spends hours just to commute till office. To cite an example, in Mumbai I used to work for a big MNC which was located at the centre of the city and I used to commute for four hours every day. Later I switched to a different branch which was comparatively farther, but outside the city and there my commute time reduced to just two hours. A large company or an industry employs a large number of people and they all contribute to traffic which directly increases travel time for everyone. Hence, in urban areas, commuting has always been a daunting task and with a large number of employees in a large company it becomes even worse. In addition, there is always a sense of peace and calmness that people feel away from the daily hustle of city life. A recent research on workers of the TATA steel company of various branches concluded that people working in rural areas were less stressed and more efficient as compared to the ones placed in urban plants. Mind is more open and serene when the surroundings are also the same. Therefore, staff feel more mindful when they are away from various noises of a busy city. In conclusion, if large corporations are situated outside a city, its employees can save valuable travel time and they work with more efficiency with a peaceful and a healthy mind.