Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that devastated refugees are already in need of basic life necessities like food and shelter and need an acceptance from the privileged countries. Their arrival in a new country can give birth to multiple advantages and disadvantages. This essay neither agrees nor disagrees hosting refugees and will discuss both aspects. Wealthy countries for sure are able and must facilitate refugees with at least basic life needs like food and shelter. Refugees bring with them an entirely new culture, norms and traditions and add diversity to the existing social setup. For instance, Pakistan is such a country who is not a first world country but still has facilitated refugees from Afghanistan for more than a decade and has experienced Afghani culture mixed in the Pakistani culture. Marriages, cuisines, norms have been shared between the people of two countries. On the other hand, refugees can also bring with them unacceptable traditions, norms and practices. The host country can possibly witness high crime rate, monetary burden, lack of participation and negative attitude from the side of refugees. Proceeding again with the example of Pakistan, refugees from Afghanistan incorporated the gun culture in Pakistani society. Crime rate also increased in Pakistani society and poverty added fuel to the fire by putting burden on the economic structure of Pakistan. The arrival of a new culture brings both, advantages and disadvantages for the host country and therefore refugees can be a blessing and a curse at the same time for the host country. In conclusion, wealthy countries must play their part in facilitating refugees at least in their time of crisis but at the same time they must also develop strong and practical strategies to avoid damage to their own country.