In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as very wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience important for learning and taking responsibilities.

It is believed by most people that paid employment among children is fast becoming popular. While some individuals completely disagree with this practice, others believe it is a platform for youngsters to acquire the necessary job experience which will help to enhance their ability to make right decisions. In my opinion, even though it might seem inappropriate to expose them to working at such age, I agree that it will help adolescents understand the principles of time and money management. On the one hand, exposing children at an early age to handling money can be disastrous for them. This is due to the fact that it attracts bad friends to them and because of their naive mind, they can easily succumb to peer pressure and such an income is recklessly spent. Therefore, when they resume back to school, the demand for stipend increases and the evil friends coarse them to engage in criminal activities in order to be financially buoyant. For instance, an inmate in a British juvenile prison was charged for theft as a result of his inability to live up to his desired standard of life which he lived when he was working during the summer holiday. Therefore, parents ought to gurd their wards and should rather enroll them in private coaching classes. On the other hand, encouraging young ones to work as an employee is good because it help them grow up quickly. In addition, they also understand time and money management early in life as these are basic tenets of life in adulthood. In essence, they are able to multi-task and also cultivate the habit of arriving work early so as to avoid any form of consequence. Moreover, prudency becomes a part of them as they begin to save their wages. However, in order to be consistent, guidance from their parents will be needed. For example, I became used to saving my income right from my teen years in a piggy bank my mom bought for me and today, my husband prefers me to manage his finances. In conclusion, despite the fact that engaging children in paid employment can appear to be precocious, as long as it does not affect their academics, it is a practice that will pay off in adulthood and should be promoted.