We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer technology. It is used in business, crime detection and even to fly planes. What will it be used for in future? Is this dependence on technology a good thing or should we be suspicious of its benefits?

One of the most challenging problems for environmentalists is water contamination. There are various causes leading to this type of pollution as well as severe effects on people and the biosphere. One of the major causes of water pollution is emissions from vehicles, factories, electrical facilities, and other human activities. When it rains, those pollutants that have dissipated into the atmosphere are washed from by the rain and are either absorbed by the soil or fall into oceans, rivers, lakes, and other water bodies and enter the water cycle. Moreover, the polluted rain that is absorbed by the soil has a high chance of reaching deep water reservoirs like aquifers. Filtering is not a viable option since it is almost impossible to purify such large amounts of water. Another main cause of water pollution is dumping waste in water bodies. Waste must be processed accordingly in waste processing centres to eliminate environmental damage, yet sometimes it is discarded in damaging ways to the environment, for example, plastic pollution in the oceans. The effects can be extremely severe on both humans and animals alike, and specifically on endangered species. For people and animals that live on land, the main danger is water poisoning, which leads to drought, famine, and irrigation problems. Additionally, sea creatures also suffer from tainted water. For instance, many sea animals died because of the consumption of waste dumped into the oceans or being suffocated to death by plastic waste. To conclude, water contamination is one of the most catastrophic environmental problems. Emissions and waste dumping are two of the major causes of this problem. Not only does this type of pollution threaten marine life to go extinct, but it also has severe impacts on humans as well.