Watching television is bad for children.

Televisions have become an integral part of almost every household. It is a commonly held opinion that watching television mostly has a negative impact, especially on the young ones. I would argue that this is not entirely true. People who are against children being allowed to watch television are of the view that the programs mostly aired on it contain explicit content which can have undesirable effects on a growing child’s brain. This is supported by the fact that there are shows that revolve around violence and hatred. The young minds can be manipulated negatively by such information. Contrarily, if used properly and under the supervision of a responsible guardian, televisions can be used as a source of education, as well as entertainment. For instance, shows about geography and wildlife can serve to enhance a child’s understanding of how nature works and what can be done to preserve it. Furthermore, TV shows are replete with innovative ideas, in addition to intriguing theories. So, can this medium of boundless wonders be used to a person’s advantage? Arguably, yes, if information is channelled correctly and designed to effectively meet the interest of the growing population, it can be used to train young individuals in accordance with the needs of the rapidly advancing world. In lieu of the arguments put forth, it would be reasonable to say that despite the anticipated hazards, if material displayed on televisions is scrutinized before it reaches the viewers in their learning age, and if provided adequate guidance, they can be trained to use it to their benefit, and even possibly to that of a society.