Television advertising aimed at children nowadays. What are the effects of television advertising for children? Should television advertising for children be controlled?

Advertising can be defined as an economic system that encourages people to buy more and more things. Nowadays, although watching television programmes are not popular for adults, it is favoured by children because parents deem that children are too young and not sustainable to obtain electronic devices. However, the mind of children will be discovered by the television advertisements in the long run. Hence, it is interesting for us to discuss the effects of television advertising and whether it is necessary to be controlled. First of all, it is an obvious effect that advertising food and drink that have high levels of fat and sugar causes child obesity. In order to attract more customers, sellers will use advertisements to promote the products which have difference with the reality. For example, the real size of the MacDonald's burger is almost a half of the burger that presented in the advertisement. Otherwise, many food advertising emphasizes on the nutritionally balanced diet, but in fact, that was a lie as most of the food ate fried and they said that eating a slide of vegetable is enough for our body's need. In addition, children pester their parents to buy the products advertised on TV is the problem, for some commercials will use children's film heroes and favourite cartoon characters to let children to purchase those products. Besides, I support that television advertising aimed at children should be controlled due to children are unable to distinguish between the actual TV programmes and commercials. A lot of information are explored by children who have not critical thinking, children are easily confusing or be persuaded by the advertisements. It is dangerous that spending money on the useless things when they have not yet learned that things cost money or that money needs to be earned. It is because advertising is given the children the illusion that everyone has free access to all material things. In conclusion, the growth of children need to be concerned by parents as to avoid they are influenced by some bad advertisements. In order to nurture the good behaviours, parents have the responsibility to filter the information before it is adsorbed by children.