A very high percentage of advertisements on television are aimed at children. What effects can television advertising have on children? Should television advertising for children be controlled?

There are many television programs available for children but in between the shows there are many advertisements that appear to attract their attention. Some of those adverts might have negative effects on children, and they need to be controlled. Most of the television channels generate money by broadcasting commercial advertisements. It is difficult to deny that some of the advertisements for children contain messages, photos or videos that are appealing to children, and attempting to create the desire to own their products. These kinds of ads are aimed at children because they are too young to be rational and evaluate the messages that they are perceiving. If children frequently watch those adverts, there is a tendency for them to be materialistic and pester their parents to buy the products that they have seen from the adverts. This is a clear agenda of the advertisements as they are designed to foster greed and push children to coerce adults to buy products for them. This negative impact on children means that the adverts should be controlled as we cannot completely restrict or monitor children’s access to those commercial ads all the time. However, there are some approaches that can be employed in order to minimize the chance for children to be exposed to the traps from advertisers. One of the approaches is that television channels can be forced to change broadcast times for those adverts. These can be aired later at night when most children go to bed. If the control does not come from television channels or other authorities, then parents should take more initiative to monitor what their children are watching or select the television programs that are ad-free for them. In conclusion, advertisements aimed at children have indirect negative influences on their behavior and lifestyle and so these types of adverts need to be controlled by the media and parents.