A very high percentage of advertisements on television are aimed at children. What effects can television advertising have on children? Should television advertising for children be controlled?

Currently most of the advertisements on television are focused on children which may have negative effects on them. Therefore, some controls are needed to be put in place. One of the main negative effects that children might receive from advertisements on television is unhealthy lifestyle. This is because most ads that focus on the young are for unhealthy products such as candy, Coca-Cola, ice cream along with fast food. They are deliberately aimed to appeal to them through promotion meals that include popular cartoon characters and superheroes. Once they have seen superheroes they admire linked to these products, they may pester their parents to buy those products and, as a result, parents may give in to that pestering even though they know that is not healthy food to give their children. Therefore, the poor eating habits that come from ads may contribute to the increase in obesity rates in children. This negative effect on children’s lifestyle, therefore, suggest that further control of advertising is needed. One of the potential ways is to limit the time on air that unhealthy food advertisements are allowed to be shown. The prime time of ads should be the school time and bed time of children in order to make sure that there is limited exposure to the ads. If the control does not come from authorities or companies, parents should take action. One possible way that parents can do this is to choose the programs that do not include the ads or allow children to look through YouTube or online websites instead of television programs. In conclusion, television adverts aimed at children should be controlled by limiting the time that they are allowed on air and parents should choose the best way for children to look at programs because if the ads are not controlled, those ads may come up with a negative impact on children.