Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is a less-discussed issue in this era, but one which can have depressing effects on both individuals and society. There seem to be two main causes, and a number of effects, which will be discussed here. Possibly the main cause is having parents with a little schooling background. This leads to produce illiterate person, because they could not help their offsprings in reading and thus studying. Also, a less-literate parents, means a less-used books at home and lack of reading stimulating. A further well-known cause is difficult circumstances. These range from a widely-spread poverty, political turbulence to learning disabilities, especially in less affluent countries. The effects of this concern on both people and state can be quite serious. Firstly, illiteracy may be contributed to limited ability to obtain information and understand information. For example, many people may not understand their health situation and take a serious action because they could not write or read. In addition to, unemployment rate has been affected by the illiteracy. In other words, the employment chances would be lessened in the competitive job market or even get a badly-paid work. Secondly, Literacy is an essential tool for state to be competitive with all the globe. For instance, there would be many vacant work positions since the less-educated society's members. A long-term effect is that the literacy exacerbates the difficulty of understanding the social issues which undermines the society involvement. To conclude, a poor-educated parents and the severe surrounding conditions seem to be the main causes, and they affect both unaware individuals and the progression of the state consequently.