Some people say it is important to keep your home and your workplace tidy, with everything organised and in the correct place. What is your opinion about this?

In our diverse world, some people are very organized, while others are completely messy. I strongly believe that being organized at home and office is extremely important to enjoy a convenient life, and to have a comfortable working environment. Firstly, keeping everything in its place helps make our life easier. To keep a home neat surely requires extra effort and time. Nevertheless, this effort is just a drop in an ocean compared to the inconvenience and excessive load needed to look for lost belongings in case a person is unorganized. When I stayed in the dorms, my roommate was extremely chaotic. He used to spend hours looking for his belongings at very critical times, resulting in being always late to classes and exams. In fact, if he spent little effort organizing his room, he would have avoided all these inconveniences. In the workplace, being tidy is crucial to perform the job in an efficient and effective way. Mostly, employees work in teams, which require all members to be organized. Otherwise, employees will waste precious time in looking for working materials. Moreover, research found that people’s focus is heavily affected by the tidiness of the working environment. On the contrary, an unorganized office might affect the mood of employees negatively which will in turn reflect on their job execution. In conclusion, making an extra effort to always have everything in its place certainly bear a fruit. It saves a lot of time that might be wasted while looking for things, and it reflects positively on the mood of people in a workplace.