Watching a live performance such as a play, concert, or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television.

Many believe that watching live entertainment is better than watching it on television. In my opinion, though the experience of attending a performance in person can be exhilarating, television provides the best viewing experience these days. Live performances are unique. A good example of this would in the sporting world. Most would jump at the chance to watch the greats of the game like Messi, Federer and Lebron ply their craft by attending one of their matches in person. The recorded versions of those events will last forever but there is a limited window to catch them in person. Experiencing the best players live highlights the speed, precision, and high-level talent required to dominate other professional athletes. This indelible memory of seeing a genius performing in person also applies to varying degrees for concerts, plays, and speeches. Nonetheless, advances in broadcasting have elevated the home-viewing experience above the live version. The advent of HD televisions in the last two decades and the expansion of channels are the principle causes. These days, an individual watching a basketball game can hear play-by-play and colour commentary, see close-ups of the players, follow the action from the ideal view, and enjoy all this within the comforts of their own home. The memory may be less distinct but the experience itself is more enjoyable. This collective shift away from most major live events and towards home entertainment is evidenced in lower attendance numbers and ticket prices. In conclusion, the best way to watch a live event is on television. There may be certain exceptions depending on the kind of event and how often it occurs but this holds true for most live performances.