Violence in society increases when more violence is shown on television.

Violence is one of the problematic issues faced by the society today and the government of most countries try to take measures in order to avoid any violence from taking place. Media plays a very important role in situations of violence. I will discuss about how television or media influences people during such circumstances. Earlier, people used to get information about what is happening around the world only through newspapers. So they would get only those information which gets published in the newspaper; moreover, it was a controlled media. Newspaper companies were not allowed to publish all the information, especially sensitive matters that would create violence and harm the integrity of a nation. But now there is no control on what is getting published on television news channel. Media houses telecasts sensitive matters live which creates more problems to the security of a nation. Police and the army find it difficult to handle such situations as all the information gets leaked. For example, 2011 Mumbai terror attacks were shown live on all news channels which made it easier for terror groups to get information about all the moves made by the police and the army; alerting the terrorist about the developments. Furthermore, when violence in the society is shown in television it has a negative impact on the minds of people. If new channels show live telecast about a violence, youth get influenced and try to get involved. For example, when there was violence in UP after meat ban, all news channels showed this on TV and there were debates during prime time. This influenced youth from many other states and it created a major divide among communities. In conclusion, I totally agree that showing more about violence in television increases violence and divide in the society. Although, I agree that media houses cannot stop from broadcasting the news about violence, but they can always be selective what is shown on television.