Some people think that all university students should study whatever course they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

The confusion about the course to study in the tertiary institution still remains one puzzle yet to be unraveled. While some sets of people think that undergraduates should be allowed to study the course of their choice others think they should do subjects related to science and technology. In my opinion, I believe that learners should be allowed to take the path of knowledge they want in school. This essay will discuss both views and give a reasoned conclusion. On one hand, the best part of university learning is the ability to select one's course of study as this prevents the student from losing interest in school. When a 3rd level education student voluntarily selects a course of their choice not only will they be focused but they will also do the subject passionately. During a survey at the academic times of the Northwest University in 2017 it was reported that 10 students out of the 50 students offered admission for the history course dropped out because they were not interested in the course but had been forced to take the course as a result of their parent's influence. Therefore, in order to prevent this occurence it is necessary to encourage learners to practise what they love. On the other hand, studying useful courses in the university helps to develop the student's future career prospect. Doing lucrative courseworks will increase a learner's chanceof getting green collar jobs after graduation. For example, it has been reported that the highest earning field in Nigeria as at 2019 is the science and technical field for this reason it is essential that students do lucrative courses. Although, in my opinion, I believe allowing a learner study the course of their choice is highly important as this will prevent them from being inactive members of the school society. To sum up, although studying courses like science and technology is more beneficial to the student in the future, human's happiness supercedes this. It is highly recommended that the government provides a job awareness program for the students prior admission, in order, for them to familiarize with the different job opportunites attached to the various courses.