Violence in society increases when more violence is shown on television. .

In recent times, a lot of debate is going on regarding the role of television in increasing crime rate. Some argue that this is due to the increase in the amount in violence shown on television and I completely agree on this. It is undoubtedly a fact that television and the media have a lot of impact on the society. The increase in the amount of violence shown has a detrimental effect on people, especially the youngsters. Firstly, they tend to mimic what ever is shown and hence try to copy the same in real life. For instance, a lot of young students are killing their classmates just because they are angry at them for silly reasons and this is how some hero or star in a series or movie did. Besides, they feel they will be considered as adults only if they did such thing and hence follow whatever they, without thinking about its side effects. Moreover, few even consider this as a way to prove that they are superior and everyone should obey them. Secondly, a lot of offenders now are under aged and they don't even know what they have done is right or wrong. Nevertheless, children usually grasp everything quickly and someone should be there to guide them on the wrong deeds. If the see some violence in the television or social media and if no one is there to correct them, they will unknowingly commit the crime without realizing the punishment or the impact it has. For example, the recent shootings in a school in the United States are committed by kids who are manipulated by criminals. Being innocent and vulnerable, they are easily becoming the prey here. To conclude, television has a major role to play in the present society. In my opinion, the contents shown has to be censored properly so that it will not cause harm to anyone and there should be a rule not to show violent shoes or clips during peak hours.