Video games are very popular with children. However, some parents feel that video games can have a negative impact on their children, but others believe that they may have some positive effects. How do you feel about children playing video games? Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Video games have become very popular amongst the younger generation in recent times. Some parents are worried regarding the harmful effects these games would have over children, while others would go to lengths explaining the benefits of modern games. In my opinion computer games has an adverse effect on overall physical as well as mental health of youngsters and this essay would discuss those health issues in detail. Modern games require a lot of strategy and planning to progress further in the game. Some would argue that, this helps induce critical thinking in young minds and thus have a positive impact. However, many games contain extreme violence and bloodshed, which might have negative impacts on a child's personality. Hence, due to the obscene content, video games do more harm than good. Also there are issues related to health and fitness of these gamers. As per a recent study by the WHO, children spend on an average 3 to 4 hours daily playing games. Such extended periods sitting across the screen not only puts stress on the eyes, but also the lack of physical activity are one of the reasons why the younger population is mostly obese. To summarise, this essay has discussed how the violent content in games may have adverse effects on the child's behaviour and lack of physical exercise due to prolonged hours of gaming is one of the causes of obesity in children. All in all, the essay concludes that these virtual games indeed have adverse negative impacts on the younger section of society