Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

The increasing amount of violence shown in films has been a topic of discussion for some time. It is commonly believed that the direct exposure to cruelty in films is directly connected to major social issues. This essay will discuss the main problems caused by such violence including effects on young children’s mental health as well as the idealization of criminals. This essay will also suggest solutions to these problems such as framing educational policies and implementing new technologies. First of all, film violence affects the most innocent part of our society – the children. It is a fact that children, who still are emotionally immature, are easily affected by everything they are exposed to, especially aggressive acts. This may lead to a more antisocial and destructive behavior of this part of our community. A recently conducted study among children aged 3 to 6 has shown a shocking result: those who were watching violent videos for some time expressed particularly aggressive attitude towards their toys afterwards, in contrast, those who were watching different videos did not show similar deviant behavior. Moreover, antagonists in films are oftentimes presented as charismatic and attractive characters, so that people may be encouraged to look up to and romanticize them. So, particularly impressive people may believe that they can gain respect and admiration by copying this aggressive behavior, and consequently the levels of violence increase, especially in major cities around the globe. One way to tackle these problems can be potentially solved by introducing new technology which can help individuals to control what information is received or accessed in their own homes. For example, today, such a major video hosting website as YouTube has a function that removes all of the adult content, so that children can watch videos that are relevant for them. Furthermore, it is also essential to introduce educational policies aimed not only at early childhood but as well as on adult community education. This strategy should sharpen consumers’ ability to discriminate between fantasy and reality, and to become more informed and empowered consumers. In conclusion, today the increasing amount of violent moments in films has become a major issue. This essay discussed which problems emerge from the explicitly shown violence, such as aggressive behavior in children and the idealization of criminals, as well as the ways of tackling these issues, being educational campaigns and the implementation of modern technologies.