Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Leisure time plays a pivotal role in physical and mental well-being of children. Some people assert that children should be motivated by their parents to attend social group activities; where as many other argues that they should spend their time alone to explore diverse activities and rejuvenate themselves. In my opinion, a balanced approach will be appropriate because both are beneficial for their development. To begin with, organized group activities allow children to socialize with people in their immediate vicinity. Parents these days prefer their juvenile to participate in extra-curricular/ team activities as they are important for building skills in non-academic, but equally important areas. For instance, participating in sports and joining clubs, learning a foreign language or a musical instrument will develop communication, co-operation and conflict management skills. Furthermore, a well-planned schedule of leisure activities ensures efficient utilization of time as it requires regular commitment and dedication which teach them the importance of team work and time management. These activities also enhance the confidence levels and interpersonal skills of children. On the other hand, it is not always possible to participate in group events, therefore, children should learn how to occupy themselves and explore recreational activities on their own. These unplanned activities followed by their mood at that time increase productivity and can be a source of creativity and innovation. For instance, some youngsters like reading in their spare time, which adds up their knowledge, whereas, some are creative in nature and enjoy activities like painting. These fun activities give them freedom of thought and develop decision-making abilities. Moreover, it also helps them discover their hidden talents. To conclude, although, it is certainly good for children to be exhorted by parents into collaborative activities in their leisure hours; they should be given independence to spend some time doing things on their own without intervention. In my opinion, both are crucial for personality development.