People have easy access to video games nowadays and many people consider playing video games as a form of entertainment or even educational. Others however completely deny this and say that video games only have negative effects on people.

Video games have become an indispensable part of modern life, especially for children and teenagers. Some people uphold its advantages and merits, while others have reservations about it. In my opinion, though these games pose some advantages it does more harm to the people. On the one hand, there are some benefits of video games. Firstly it acts as an entertainment tool. That is, it gives an opportunity to relax after hectic duty or study hours, refreshes our mind as well. As a result, it gives an impression to the public that it gives peace, relaxation and tension free. Another interesting factor is that it improves our skill. To make it clearer, to play video games we need to coordinate our vision, cognitive ability and the movements of hands. Here comes associated activity of our brain and body. As a result, it improves our skills and helps this in our daily pursuits. On the other hand, it is fairly easy to understand the drawbacks of video games. Firstly, it reduces socialisation. It is a game only with one person and the device, so there is no mingling, interaction, communication etc with others. Hence, it transforms a person into an introvert and isolates this person from the society. This results in pernicious influence in the personality development of children. Moreover, it can be addictive. Since there is a treasure trove, limitless fun and easy accessibility from the internet without any payment, the use expands by people irrespective of age. This intern affects their academic pursuits as well as the performance of work. In addition, playing video games for a long time cause physical complications. That is improper body language and uncomfortable environment while playing video games harm the physical conditions. This can end up in a backache, vision problem, joint pain and so on. To sum up, it is proved beyond doubt that video games do more harm to people than benefits. We should use our prudence and discernment while playing video games and use as a relaxation technique, not be addictive.