Video games are very popular with children. However, some parents feel that video games can have a negative impact on their children, but others believe that they may have some positive effects. How do you feel about children playing video games? Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Video games have become very popular amongst the younger generation in recent times. Some parents are worried regarding the harmful effects these games would have over children, while others would go to lengths explaining the benefits of modern games. In my opinion computer games has an adverse effect on overall physical as well as mental health of youngsters and this essay would discuss those health issues in detail. Most games today are played online, and often involve several players from across the country or the world. This will helps the child build skills required to work together as a team and solve problems together. However, many video games in the market contain excessive violence, over-the-top sexuality, profanity, racism, and many other things that cannot be perceived by kids in the right manner. They may fail to take these depictions with a pinch of salt and may end up trying to emulate the same behaviour as portrayed in the games. As a result, the video games may do more harm than good. Furthermore, spending a lot of time playing video games instead of indulging in physical activities can be detrimental to a child’s health in several ways. A child’s cognitive development may get affected if he doesn’t get out and socialise in the real world. Constantly sitting in one place and playing video games at length can increase the chances of obesity, weaken the muscles and joints, make hands and fingers numb due to over-exertion, and multiple studies suggest that it can even weaken the eyesight. To summarise, this essay has discussed how the violent content in games may have adverse effects on the child's behaviour and lack of physical exercise due to prolonged hours of gaming is one of the causes of obesity in children. All in all, the essay concludes that these virtual games indeed have adverse negative impacts on the younger section of society