Very few school children learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as a part of school curriculum.

Whether money management should be a part of the academic curriculum is a great debate. Most of the schools are already overwhelmed with the subjects they have to teach and adding personal financial affairs to the syllabus would make things worse. Moreover, this is a skill that teachers cannot instil in a child through lectures and exams and this is why I personally believe that parents should take this responsibility. To begin with, no matter how many chapters someone reads or how many exams he takes on the value of money in life, until he takes the responsibility and earns it, is impossible to learn the practical aspect of personal finances. Teachers are not in a position to decide whether a student should work besides study and manage his finance. Parents, on the other hand, are ideal to handle this. They can teach their children the value of money and put them in situations when they need to take responsibilities. Moreover, learning to manage someone's finance is a different type of skill that class lectures cannot teach. Finally, a teacher does not know every aspect of a student's family and their financial condition. This is why the same lecture is not suitable for all students. Parents are in a far better position to let their children learn this essential life skill. To conclude, money management is a practical aspect of life and theoretical classes are ineffective to develop this great skill. Parents, on the contrary, should take command of this aspect and prepare their children how to value money and handle personal finance efficiently.