Very few school children learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum.

Some people suggest that school curriculums should include critical life skills such as handling of money as only a limited number of school children learn the value of money. I agree with the above idea as some parents are reluctant or do not have enough time to teach necessary life skills to their children at home. The value of money can be taught at home, but some parents do not allow children to handle money until they become older. In other words, children have limited opportunities to learn about finances and consequently, they are more likely to have a trouble in making ends meet and prone to have debts once they start living independently. But why parents do not want to share monetary information with their kids? One possible reason would be a financial issue. If there is a monetary problem within a family, parents do not want to let children know about it. Furthermore, many parents are busy at work, and less time is spent with their children to teach necessary skills. For these reasons, schools are good places to teach children about the value of money. Incorporating this critical life skill into a school curriculum benefits children so that they become prepared for the future. If these important skills are taught at schools, children have an equal opportunity no matter what their family backgrounds are. If the value of money is learnt at a young age, less people will have debts in the future and money is spent wisely. In conclusion, although parents owe the responsibility to teach their children how to manage finances to some extent, they are busy at work and sometimes hard for them to teach this kind of skill if they were having a financial issue; therefore, schools should incorporate this subject into a curriculum so that all children have an equal opportunity to learn the value of money.