There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents are happening. As a result, some politicians have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test. What do you think are the advantages of repeat driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of cars on roads is increasing rapidly these days which is aligned with the number of car accidents. Consequently, some authorities believe that all driving licence holders must take driving tests every year, rather than doing it once in their life. The following essay will discuss the positive and the negative sides of the routine test, but I do believe that it has more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, it is undeniable that doing a driving test annually would have some disadvantages. One of the reasons is the time and preparation it would require. In addition, people would have to pay every year for taking the test. Lastly, they also believe that it would cost more for the government, as they must provide additional manpower in the driving test centres. Despite all the negative sides, performing a driving test on an annual basis would have some benefits for everybody. Firstly, by having a yearly driving test, each driver would be refreshed and updated with all driving regulations. Secondly, drivers would be more cautious and more careful when they drive, as their license will be checked regularly. Thirdly, it will reduce the number of traffic accidents, because the driver's physical condition would also be checked as a part of the test. For example, each driver's eyesight would be examined as some driver might have problems with their views. In conclusion, it is indisputable that performing a driving test each year has its own drawbacks, but I do believe that it has more benefits for everybody. By doing the test regularly, people will be more aware and cautious of their driving style which will reduce the number of accidents.