Very few school children learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as a part of school curriculum.

An academic institute usually deals with science, arts and commerce related subjects while ignores teaching money management and this is why it is often noticed that students who do well in school struggle while taking care of their finances in real life. Having said that, academic and financial intelligence cannot be seen as inherent contradictions, but they truly are two mutually independent competencies. I personally believe that value of money and money management should be taught in schools. The author of the book “Rich Dad Poor Dad” terms Financial Independence as ‘you being able to make your money work for you and not the other way around’. Students who get to learn about how to spend, invest and save money rarely find themselves in financial predicaments despite what their salaries bring in. Such skills are often inculcated through parents or by observing people who practice them. On the other hand, students who lack these skills usually find themselves with insufficient funds no matter how much their jobs pay them. They never learn to develop their assets. It renders them dependents on their jobs for life as it is their only source of income. The earnings are mostly spent on their liabilities leaving them with paltry savings. If money management is taught as a part of school curriculum, all the students will get a chance to learn such skills. They will grow up to have more knowledge of money and finance. Consecutively, they will have a better perspective while making financial decisions. This will lead to a more stable, enriched and self-reliant society. To conclude, I would say that earning money may not be the goal in life but it is the money that provides us with our basic needs and the sense of security. All these points advocate that learning the skills to value and handle money is definitely a crucial part of life. Thus, I believe that lessons for financial management should be made a part of school curriculum so that more and more students can have a chance at a financially stable future.