People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of families to look after the elderly, while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them where they can be looked after properly. Discuss.

Nowadays people are living more than 80 or even 100 years and most of them are unable to look after themselves. The controversy over who is responsible for providing service for elderly people is hot debated. Some individuals suggest that families are required to care the old people, others argue that the government should organise retirement homes for older people. In many countries, people firmly believe that families should take care the old ones who are unable to do it themselves. For example, in Russia and China, it is common believe that it is a responsibility of families and if a family decide to send their parents to the retirement home it is considered disrespectful. Therefore, most of the families do it themselves. There is a general believe that families can care better and provide reasonable services to their old generation rather than it could be done in the retirement homes where the service is poor and not sufficient enough. Not only this, it is considered that the most significant source of happiness can give grandchildren and children to the elderly whereas it cannot be provided by any of the retirement places. On the other hand, the different opinion exists that the government should ensure a place in the retirement homes for elderly. For example, in Australia and Canada people argue that the government should give a place to the eldest when they are unable to provide care for themselves because the families should work, raise their children and live their lives most of all looking after themselves and the next generation. In those countries, the way of thinking and believes vary to Russia and China and people can rely on such institutions like retirement homes to look after their parents where the service is good and pleasant. To sum up, there are two opinions about who should look after the old individuals and for different countries, there is a different way to go. In my opinion, no matter who takes care the old parents, it should be done properly and from the bottom of the hard. In the perfect situation, a balance is required between families and the retirement homes to look after the eldest.