People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of families to look after the elderly, while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them where they can be looked after properly. Discuss.

Whether taking care of elder citizens is the sole responsibility of family members or that should be supported by the government is a very controversial issue. With the increasing life expectancy and modern healthcare system the number of senior citizens is increasing in most of the countries and how those old people should be supported is an issue that indeed requires a comprehensive discussion. First of all, the people should themselves prepare for their old ages and save money so that they do not have to rely solely on others for their maintenance. It is quite a hard reality that if an old person has a good amount of money and properties the number of people to look after him would be plenty. The reverse is also true and that’s why the people should always have plans for savings for their rainy days. However, old people not only needs medical support, a place to live and nurses to look after them, they also need people to talk to them, care them and spend time with them which money cannot buy. The family members must take care of their elder parents or grandparents and spend time with them rather than sending them to a retirement home. It is quite inhuman to send an old family member to an old home while s/he has cared for the family members for the whole life. The debt we have to our grandparents and parents could never be repaid, however, we should try to at least repay them some by caring them in a way they did when we were children. Finally, not all old people will have close relatives and family members to look after them. The government would have to support the older generation who have served the country and society with their every effort. The old people have all paid tax when they were employed and thus the government has a natural obligation to support the old people by providing improved medical support, retirement homes with all necessary facilities. The government does not have control whether a family decides to take care of an old member or send them in a retirement home. But proper arrangement and facilities for those elderly should be supported by the government. In conclusion, I believe that supporting older people is an issue that should be backed up in every way possible.   A young person should take preparation for his old age while the family members and governments should play their role so that those fragile and helpless old people do not suffer at all.