Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance listening from the internet rather than face-to-face interaction in the classroom. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

First and foremost, studying via internet is advantageous due to less time wasted. When students leave their home to commute to the university or college, most of them spend hours on the roads. It exhausts them and even may result in falling behind on studies. For instance, I have a hard time to initiate working on my studies when I come home from university due to exhaustion. Secondly, it avoids the compulsion to take notes during the class, because students have access to myriad academic articles in distant learning courses. The necessity to take notes is a disturbing and exhausting factor which students always complain about. According to the survey conducted among the Harvard university students, more than 80% of students despise the action of writing down the academic materials. On the contradictory, taking online courses decreases human interaction, and this leads to having inadequate communication skills. Communication skills are crucial to learners’ education and future lives and thus the importance of human interaction cannot be neglected. For example, in Australia, students who have taken an online learning course instead of attending to school and academy lament over it because they are in lack of aptitude to utilize the words in an effective method. Another obvious demerit to point out is undergraduates get used to sluggish lifestyle. The biggest downside of this is students may become inactive in their further activities. Living a sedentary life can decline the passion to enhance one’s knowledge and skills. According to BBC news, nowadays there are extremely obvious differences between students’ liveliness who attend educational institutions regularly and who take online courses from the internet.