“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

We have seen many medical specialists advising their patients to adopt precautionary measures to avoid illness. I completely agree with the statement as intensive care is important instead of treatment. Though, certain diseases require treatment but following hygiene practices, creating awareness among the society and implementing legislative policies result in a better living environment. First of all, the viruses are spread mostly due to human negligence. We are not concerned about our surroundings and keep them polluted. Common illnesses are caused by not taking care of our environment. Health practitioners advise their patients to adopt healthy practices. For example, a major reason for the wide spread of Malaria is due to poor sanitation system in our country. Every year, millions of rupees are spent in curing this virus, but no measures are taken to improve the sanitation system. Secondly, understanding among the community is very important. Public service messages play a vital role in this regard. Recently, we have seen the news regarding Corona virus infecting many countries. The cure for the disease is still not confirmed, but the media is promoting hygiene practices in order to avoid the virus. Moreover, the government should implement hygiene knowledge at all levels. Proper sessions should be conducted to give awareness to the community. In additions to this, the government should impose fine to those who do not follow the practices. To conclude, I believe that instead of investing and researching for the cure of illness; it is better to follow health and hygiene at all levels. The resources utilized in research should be used in awareness programs. Resultantly, we will be able to give healthy living environment to children.