Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to online teaching, different people have different attitudes. While some people believe that it is detrimental for universities and colleges to offer online lessons instead of teaching students in the classroom, I would argue that the benefits of this development is more desirable. It is possibly true that providing qualifications through online learning could produce disadvantages, one of which is that teachers could not deal with students’ question in time. It is common that most of the students studying online usually listen to their teacher merely and seldom dare to ask teacher if they any question. Conversely, in the classroom, every students could be well observed by their teachers. If they have any problems, their teachers could quickly recognize and stop to help them solve. However, this drawback are able to be solved. This is because students could turn on the computer camera so that teachers could find that whether students have any confusion. Then, the reason that I am in this position is that such development could be beneficial for both students and teachers. On the one hand, it is more likely for students to ask their teachers for help through Internet. It is due to the fact that students might feel stressful when they communicate with their teachers face-to-face. Therefore, consulting online could perfectly solve this problem like sending email to their teachers or even asking them on WeChat. On the other hand, it is a good approach for teachers to win more free time. As we all know, it is time-consuming to commute to work and home every day especially during rush hour. By teaching online, lecturers could have more leisure time to engage in their work like helping students to deal with their problems or do some entertainments to relax themselves. In conclusion, I am in the position that although providing qualifications online would bring negative effects, it is more advantageous than teaching in the classroom. Wish universities and colleges could proper way to offer teaching.